JOB INVENTORY - Child and Youth Counsellors

Position Details

  • Title
    JOB INVENTORY - Child and Youth Counsellors
  • Type of Position
    Casual
  • Date Published
    January 1, 2017 12:00 AM
  • Closing Date
    December 31, 2017 11:59 PM

Position Description

Seeking on an ongoing basis. Resumes of qualified candidates will be placed in an inventory for a six (6) month period.

 

CHILD AND YOUTH COUNSELLOR

(CASUAL PART-TIME OPPORTUNITIES)

 

Are you looking for a rewarding career? Would you like an opportunity to improve the life of a child or youth in Ottawa? The Children’s Aid Society of Ottawa (CASO) is searching for dynamic and committed people to join one of the largest Children’s Aid Society’s in Ontario, to fulfill the role of a Casual Child and Youth Counsellor.

 

Responsibilities:                    

The role of the Casual Child & Youth Counsellor (CYC) is to ensure the safety and well being of children and/or youth within the Child Access Program.

 

Child Access Program:

Child & Youth Counsellors work in collaboration and consultation with other Society staff, with the child and his/her family, and any care providers. This includes supervising access visits with the children who are currently in the care of the CASO. The goal of the Society, within Child Access service delivery, is to provide appropriate time and resources to allow children to visit with their parents and/or other family members, under supervised conditions. This ensures their safety and well‑being, while allowing the children to maintain relationships, which are significant and important to them.

 

Parent Model Program:

The Child & Youth Counsellor working within our Parent Model Foster Homes would assume responsibility for the direct care of the child by supervising and assisting in daily living routines and transporting children to appointments and activities. They observe the established practices and procedures of the residence or program and carry out appropriate action in handling a variety of difficult situations.

 

Requirements:

  • Enrolment in and completion of at least 2 years of study in a community college or university program related to the field of Child Welfare.
  • Six months of related experience working with children and/or youth.
  • Demonstrated knowledge, skills and abilities to work effectively with diverse communities and Aboriginal Peoples.
  • Valid Driver’s license and access or ownership to a vehicle is required.
  • Cell phone is required.
  • Some positions require proficiency in both English and French (in oral and in writing).

 

Hours of Work:

The worker is expected to work flexible hours (which may include days, evenings and weekends) in order to meet the needs of the client. Schedules are determined two (2) weeks in advance based on program needs and casual staff availability. Open availability will be considered an asset.

 

Salary:

The rate of pay will be $19.73/hr plus an additional 5% of the base rate in lieu of insurable benefits. Vacation pay of 4% of regular earnings is added to each pay cheque.

 

If you are interested in the above opportunity, please apply online by clicking on the “Apply” link below.

 

We thank all applicants for their interests in the Children’s Aid Society of Ottawa however we will only contact those selected for an interview.

 

CASO is committed to a candidate selection process and work environment that is inclusive and barrier free. In order to ensure candidates are assessed in a fair and equitable manner, accommodations will be provided to prospective employees in accordance with the Accessibility for Ontarians with Disabilities Act (AODA) and the Ontario Human Rights Code.

 

The Children’s Aid Society of Ottawa is dedicated to building a workforce that reflects the diversity of the community in which we live in and serve. The Society encourages applications from all qualified individuals.

BANQUE DE CANDIDATURES - Éducateur(trice) spécialisé(e)

Détails du poste

  • Titre
    BANQUE DE CANDIDATURES - Éducateur(trice) spécialisé(e)
  • Type de poste
    Occasionnel
  • Date de publication
    1 Janvier 2017 00h00
  • Date de clôture
    31 Décembre 2017 23h59

Description du poste

Nous recrutons sur une base continue. Les curriculum vitae de candidat(e)s qualifié(e)s seront conservés dans une banque de candidature pour une période de 6 mois.

 

ÉDUCATEUR(TRICE) SPÉCIALISÉ(E)

(POSTES OCCASIONNELS, TEMPS PARTIEL)

 

Êtes-vous en quête d’une carrière enrichissante? Aimeriez-vous avoir la possibilité d’améliorer la vie d’un enfant ou d’un(e) adolescent(e) d’Ottawa? La Société de l’aide à l’enfance d’Ottawa (SAE) est présentement à la recherche de personnes dynamiques et dévouées pour se joindre à l’une des plus importante Sociétés de l’aide à l’enfance en Ontario à titre d’éducateur(trice) spécialisé(e).

 

Responsabilités:

L’éducateur(trice) spécialisé(e) est responsable d’assurer le bien‑être et la sécurité des enfants et adolescents dans le cadre de notre programme de visites familiales supervisées.

 

Programme des visites familiales supervisées:

L’éducateur(trice) spécialisé(e) travaille en étroite collaboration et en consultation avec le personnel de la Société, l’enfant, la famille de l’enfant, et les prodigueurs de soins. Cette responsabilité inclut la supervision des enfants qui sont présentement sous les soins de la SAE. La mission de la Société, par l’entremise du Programme des visites familiales supervisées, est de fournir le temps et les ressources nécessaires à l’enfant, aux parents et/ ou aux membres de la famille lors des visites familiales et ce, selon les conditions du plan de service. Ces visites supervisées assurent la sécurité et le bien-être des enfants tout en leur accordant la possibilité de maintenir une relation significative avec les personnes importantes dans leur vie.

 

Programme - Foyers de type parental:

L’éducateur(trice) spécialisé(e) supervise et assiste les enfants et adolescents dans leur routine quotidienne et les accompagne lors de rendez‑vous et activités. L’éducateur(trice) spécialisé(e) doit respecter les pratiques et procédures en place dans le programme et le foyer et intervenir de façon appropriée dans des situations variées et parfois difficiles.

 

Exigences :

  • Être inscrit et avoir complété au moins 2 années d’études au niveau collégial ou universitaire dans un domaine connexe à la protection de l’enfance.
  • Avoir 6 mois d’expérience de travail avec des enfants et/ ou adolescents.
  • Connaissances, compétences et habiletés à travailler avec les communautés multiculturelles et avec les personnes autochtones.
  • Posséder un permis de conduire valide.
  • Avoir accès à une voiture est requis.
  • Posséder un téléphone cellulaire est requis.
  • Excellentes capacités à s’exprimer en français et en anglais (à l’oral et à l’écrit) sont requises pour certains postes.

 

Heures de travail:La personne devra travailler des heures variables (pouvant être effectuées le jour, le soir et les fins de semaine) afin de répondre aux besoins de notre clientèle. Les horaires de travail sont établis deux (2) semaines à l’avance en fonction des besoins du programme et la disponibilité du personnel occasionnel. Une grande disponibilité au niveau des heures de travail sera considérée comme un atout.

 

Salaire :Le taux horaire est de 19,73 $ auquel s’ajoute une prime compensatoire de 5% du salaire horaire pour les avantages sociaux. En plus, l’employé(e) reçoit un versement de 4% à titre d’indemnité de vacances.

 

Si cette opportunité d’emploi vous intéresse, veuillez postuler en ligne en cliquant sur le lien « Appliquer » ci-joint.

 

Nous remercions toutes les personnes qui manifesteront leur intérêt envers la Société d’aide à l’enfance d’Ottawa. Cependant, nous communiquerons uniquement avec les personnes qui seront sélectionnées pour une entrevue.

 

La Société d’aide à l’enfance d’Ottawa s’est engagée à promouvoir un processus de sélection des candidats et un environnement de travail inclusifs et exempts d’obstacles. Afin que les candidatures soient évaluées de façon juste et équitable, des mesures d’adaptation seront prises pour les employés potentiels, conformément à la Loi sur l’accessibilité pour les personnes handicapées de l’Ontario et au Code des droits de la personne de l'Ontario.

 

La Société de l’aide à l’enfance d’Ottawa s’engage à former un groupe de travailleurs qui reflètent la diversité de la communauté où ils vivent et travaillent. La Société encourage toutes les personnes qualifiées à postuler.