Warning: mysqli::mysqli() [mysqli.mysqli]: Headers and client library minor version mismatch. Headers:50616 Library:50562 in /home/c00600/public_html/_includes/objects/clsDatabase.php on line 124
FAQ :: The Children's Aid Society

FAQ

What's the difference between foster care and adoption?

Adoption is a lifelong commitment where the rights of a child or youth are transferred from the birth parents to the adoptive parents. On the other hand, foster care is typically short-term or a temporary arrangement where a child or youth is placed with a family, with the ultimate goal of reuniting the child or youth with their birth family. However, in some instances, foster parents end up adopting the foster children themselves.

 

How long will I have to wait until I'm placed with a child?

There is no standard timeframe for a placement. The time can vary depending on the child(ren) being referred for adoption and your own family's strengths and experiences. However, the more open a family is to the age and details of a child, the less time a placement might take.

 

Will adopting through a CAS cost anything?

No, there are no fees involved in adoption through a CAS.

 

Can I specify what type of child I am looking to adopt?

Yes, during the Home Study process you will have the opportunity to explore what type of child would be the 'best match' for you and your family.

 

Can I adopt more than one child at a time?

You can only adopt more than one child at a time if the children are siblings. Otherwise, you must wait until your first adoption has been completed until you can initiate the adoption process for a second time.

 

What information is shared between the birth parents and the adoptive family?

Birth parents are entitled to non-identifying information about the adoptive family. No names or addresses are shared without everyone's permission. Pictures and letters can be exchanged over the years so long as there is a mutual agreement between the birth parents and the adoptive family.

 

What is adoption openness?

Adoption openness is written, verbal, or face-to-face communication or contact between a child and their birth parents. Adoption openness is agreed upon by both the birth parents and the adoptive parents.

FAQ

Quelle est la différence entre le placement en famille d'accueil et l'adoption?

L'adoption est un engagement à vie en vertu duquel les droits d'un enfant ou d'un jeune sont transférés des parents biologiques aux parents adoptifs. Par ailleurs, le placement en familly d'accueil est habituellement un placement à court term ou temporaire dans le but ultime de réunir l'enfant ou le jeune avec sa famille. Toutefois, dans certains cas, les parents d'accueil finissent par adopter eux-mêmes les enfants placés en famille d'accueil.

 

Combien de temps devrai-je attendre avant qu’un enfant soit placé chez moi?

Il n’y a pas de délai standard pour un placement. Le temps peut varier selon l’enfant ou les enfants recommandé(s) en vue de leur adoption et les forces et l’expérience de votre famille. Toutefois, plus une famille est ouverte à l’âge et aux renseignements relatifs à un enfant, moins le placement peut prendre de temps.

 

L’adoption par l’entremise d’une SAE aura-t-elle un coût?

Non, l’adoption par l’entremise d’une SAE ne comporte aucun frais.

 

Puis-je préciser le type d’enfant que je souhaite adopter?

Oui, pendant le processus d’étude du milieu familial, vous aurez l’occasion d’explorer le type d’enfant qui vous conviendrait le mieux et qui conviendrait le mieux à votre famille.

 

Puis-je adopter plus d’un enfant à la fois?

Vous ne pouvez adopter plus d’un enfant à la fois que si les enfants sont des frères et sœurs. Sinon, vous devez attendre que votre première adoption soit terminée pour pouvoir entreprendre le processus d’adoption une deuxième fois.

 

Quels renseignements sont partagés entre les parents biologiques et la famille adoptive?

Les parents biologiques peuvent recevoir des renseignements non identificatoires sur la famille adoptive. Aucun nom et aucune adresse ne sont partagés sans la permission de tous. Des photos et des lettres peuvent être échangées au fil des ans à condition que les parents biologiques et la famille adoptive s’entendent mutuellement.

Qu’est-ce que l’ouverture à l’adoption?

L’ouverture à l’adoption est exprimée par écrit, à l’oral ou par la communication en personne ou le contact entre un enfant et ses parents biologiques. Les parents biologiques et les parents adoptifs s’entendent sur l'ouverture à l’adoption.