Complaints

The Children's Aid Society of Ottawa (CASO) is committed to providing the highest quality of service to all children, youth and families. We strive for continuous organizational and service improvements, promoting a culture where all complaints are dealt with fairly and in a respectful and transparent fashion as quickly as possible. Download our Internal Complaint Brochure or see below for more information.

 

Service Complaints

We encourage you to bring forward any concerns or issues directly to your worker or their supervisor. These complaints do not need to be in writing.

You may request for a formal meeting with the supervisor to discuss the matter in person. If you wish, you can bring a support person to this meeting or any other meetings throughout the process. You can also bring a representative of your band or indigenous community, if applicable.

If you are not satisfied with the response of the supervisor, you have the right to escalate your concerns to a Service Manager or our Director of Service. We ask that you call our complaint line at 613-747-7800 ext. 2345, leaving your name and call back number. Your call will be returned by the next business day.

 

Complaints Regarding French Language Services

CASO is a designated French language service agency under the French Language Services Act, a provincial law intended to protect the rights of Franco-Ontarians.

As such, any service recipient who feels that our agency has not provided suitable service delivery in French, has the right to submit a formal complaint by calling 613-747-7800 ext. 2345.

 

Internal Complaint Review Panel (ICRP)

If all efforts to resolve your complaint have not been successful, you have the right to start a formal complaint process at any time. CASO is required, by law, to establish an Internal Complaints Review Panel to review formal complaints submitted in writing. In your submission, please describe:

  • The nature or subject matter of the complaint with a reference to events or dates if possible, and;

  • The specific issues to be addressed and the possible avenues for addressing them from the complainant's perspective.

 

You can access the Internal Complaint Review Panel form here.

Internal Complaint Review Panel

Att: Executive Office

1602 Telesat Court,

Ottawa, Ontario, K1B1B1

 

Once a formal complaint has been received, we will respond within seven days to determine if the complaint is eligible for review. If so, a meeting will be scheduled with the society’s Internal Complaint Review Panel within 14 days of the notice of eligibility being sent.

CASO’s Internal Complaint Review Panel consists of a small group of individuals who have not been directly involved in your case.

 

Complaints Not Eligible for Review

  • Concerns about services provided to someone other than yourself and/or your family;

  • Concerns about services you have sought or received from other agencies;

  • Issues that are before the court of have been decided by the court;

  • Issues that are subject to another decision-making process under the Child, Youth and Family Services Act or the Labour Relations Act.

 

Child and Family Services Review Board (CFSRB)

Should a resolution not be found by speaking to a worker, their supervisor or another CASO staff member, you can complete an external complaint application with the Child an Family Services Review Board (CFRB). You may submit a formal request to the CFSRB to review your complaint, if your complaint meets one of the following criteria:

You believe that CASO has:

  • Declined to proceed with your eligible written complaint;

  • Failed to respond to your written complaint within the required timeframe;

  • Failed to comply with the formal complaint review procedure;

  • Failed to provide you with an opportunity to be heard and represented when decisions affecting your interests were being made and heard about the services you received or are receiving; or

  • Failed to provide you with a reason for a decision that affects your interests.

 

Application forms for the Child and Family Services Review Board are available in our office or click the following link to be re-directed to the Child and Family Services Review Board. To download the form, click here.

 

More Information: Ontario Ombudsman

The Ontario Ombudsman's Children and Youth Unit oversees answering questions, providing information about the rights or children and youth, addressing complaints from young people and adults about CAS services, and conducting investigations. For more information, please visit the Ontario Ombudsman's website.

Plaintes

La Société de l’aide à l’enfance d’Ottawa (SAEO) s’engage à offrir des services de la plus grande qualité à l’ensemble des enfants, des jeunes et de leurs familles. Nous nous efforçons d’améliorer continuellement notre organisation et nos services en faisant la promotion d’une culture dans laquelle toutes les plaintes sont traitées de façon juste, respectueuse et transparente le plus rapidement possible. Téléchargez notre brochure de Plaintes Interne ou voir ci-dessous pour plus d'informations.

 

Plaintes de service

Nous vous encourageons à faire part de vos préoccupations ou problèmes directement à votre intervenant ou à son superviseur. Il n'est pas nécessaire que ces plaintes soient présentées par écrit.

Vous pouvez demander une rencontre officielle avec le superviseur pour discuter de la question en personne. Si vous le souhaitez, vous pouvez inviter une personne de soutien à cette réunion ou à toute autre réunion tout au long du processus. Vous pouvez également inviter un représentant de votre bande ou de votre communauté autochtone, le cas échéant.

Si vous n’êtes pas satisfait de la réponse du superviseur, vous avez le droit de transmettre vos préoccupations à un gestionnaire de service ou à notre directeur du service. Nous vous demandons de téléphoner à notre service des plaintes, au 613-747-7800, poste 2345, en laissant votre nom et votre numéro de téléphone. Nous vous rappellerons au plus tard le jour ouvrable suivant.

 

Plaintes relatives aux services en français

La SAEO est un organisme de services en français désigné en vertu de la Loi sur les services en français, une loi provinciale visant à protéger les droits des Franco-Ontariens.

Par conséquent, tout bénéficiaire de services qui estime que notre organisme n’a pas fourni de services appropriés en français a le droit de déposer une plainte officielle en composant le 613-747-7800, poste 2345.

 

Comité interne d'examen des plaintes (CIEP)

Si tous les efforts déployés pour régler votre plainte n’ont pas porté fruit, vous avez le droit d’entamer un processus officiel de plainte en tout temps. En vertu de la loi, la SAEO est tenue d’établir un comité interne d’examen des plaintes chargé d’examiner les plaintes officielles présentées par écrit. Dans votre présentation, veuillez décrire :

  • La nature ou l’objet de la plainte, avec mention des événements ou des dates, si possible;

  • Les problèmes précis à régler et les moyens potentiels de les régler, du point de vue du plaignant.

 

Vous pouvez accéder au formulaire du Comité interne d’examen des plaintes ici.

Comité interne d’examen des plaintes

À l’attention du Bureau de la direction

1602, cour Telesat,

Ottawa (Ontario) K1B 1B1

 

Une fois qu’une plainte officielle a été reçue, nous répondrons dans les sept jours suivants pour déterminer si la plainte peut faire l’objet d’un examen. Dans l’affirmative, une réunion sera fixée avec le Comité interne d’examen des plaintes de la Société dans les 14 jours suivant l’envoi de l’avis d’admissibilité.

Le Comité interne d’examen des plaintes de la SAEO se compose d’un petit groupe de personnes qui n’ont pas participé directement à votre dossier.

 

Plaintes non admissibles à l'examen

  • Préoccupations au sujet de services fournis à une personne autre que vous ou votre famille;

  • Préoccupations au sujet de services que vous avez demandés ou reçus d’autres organismes;

  • Questions dont sont saisis les tribunaux ou qui ont été tranchées par un tribunal;

  • Questions assujetties à un autre processus décisionnel en vertu de la Loi sur les services à l’enfance, à la jeunesse et à la famille ou de la Loi sur les relations de travail.

 

Commission de révision des services à l'enfance et à la famille (CRSEF)

Si un problème n'est pas résolu en parlant à un travailleur, leur superviseur (e) ou autre employé de la Société, vous pouvez soumettre une plainte officielle avec la Commission de révision des services à l'enfance et à la famille (CRSEF). Vous pouvez présenter une demande officielle à la CRSEF pour qu’elle examine votre plainte, si celle-ci satisfait à l’un des critères suivants :

Vous croyez que la SAEO :

  • A refusé de donner suite à votre plainte écrite admissible;

  • A omis de répondre à votre plainte écrite dans le délai prescrit;

  • Ne s’est pas conformée à la procédure officielle d’examen des plaintes;

  • Ne vous a pas donné l’occasion d’être entendu et représenté lorsque des décisions touchant vos intérêts ont été prises, et ne vous a pas donné l’occasion d’être entendu en ce qui concerne les services que vous avez reçus ou que vous recevez;

  • Ne vous a pas expliqué la raison d’une décision qui a une incidence sur vos intérêts.

 

Les formulaires de demande de la Commission de révision des services à l’enfance et à la famille sont disponibles à notre bureau ou cliquez ici pour être redirigé vers la Commission de révision des services à l'enfance et à la famille. Pour télécharger le formulaire, cliquez ici.

 

En savoir plus: l'Ombudsman de l'Ontario

L'Unité des services à l'enfance et à la jeunesse de l'Ombudsman de l'Ontario veille à répondre aux questions, à fournir des renseignements sur les droits des enfants et des jeunes, à répondre aux plaintes des jeunes et des adultes au sujet des services des SAE et à mener des enquêtes. Pour obtenir plus de renseignements, visitez le site Web de l'Ombudsman de l'Ontario.