Adoption Process

Our process can be broken down into four phases:

adoption process_1

ADOPTION INTAKE LINE

Our adoption intake line can be reached by calling 613-742-1620 ext. 2. If you don’t reach a person directly during regular business hours, you may leave a message 7 days a week 24 hours a day. Expect to receive a call back within 48 hours of your message. The intake line acts as your first opportunity to speak directly with an adoption representative about the process or any questions you may have.

 

INFORMATION SESSIONS

These sessions act as an extension to the information provided on our website and to the information provided through our Intake Line. To view our information session calendar, please click here. If, following the information session you believe that you are a good match to the type of children that we are trying to place, you may take home an application package to complete and submit.

 

Session Language:

Held in both French and English

Location:

Main office at 1602 Telesat Court, Gloucester, ON

Timing:

Approximately every two months

Registration:

Contact Adoption Intake 613-742-1620 ext. 2  

Facilitators:

Sessions are run by an adoption worker along with one of our adoptive parents 

Session Length:

Approximately 2 hours long

Topics

  • Adoption within the broader context of the Children’s Aid Society of Ottawa
  • Application process
  • What you can expect following the submission of your application
  • What our current needs are for families
  • Post adoption supports we offer
  • Openess regarding birth family
  • Role of the birth parent within the adoption process
  • An opportunity to answer any additional questions

 

THE APPLICATION PACKAGE

After attending the information session, you will complete an application package to allow us to better understand who you are and what profile of child you would like to adopt. Upon submission of the application you will receive an acknowledgement letter informing you that your application has been received, and highlighting any missing documents.

 

SCREENING OF THE APPLICATION AND HOMESTUDY

Following an initial intake process, your application is reviewed by the adoption supervisor and based on the current needs of our children and program, an initial recommendation will be made to either assign or close your file. If we elect to proceed with your application, you will be assigned to an adoption worker to work with you while you complete your Home Study Assessment and to register you for our P.R.I.D.E. Training Program.

S.A.F.E. Home Study

The home study portion of the application is called  “S.A.F.E.”  –  Structured Analysis Family Evaluation. This study involves several home visits by your adoption worker, providing references, medical reports, financial information, consents for police and child welfare checks, as well as filling out other SAFE specific assessment forms to complete this section of your application. 

P.R.I.D.E. Training

The Home Study process also requires attendance at a 27-hour series training program called P.R.I.D.E. - Parenting Resources for Information, Development and Education. This training prepares adoptive parents to meet the needs of adopted children and addresses the common learning needs of each adoptive parent.

 

 

The complete assessment process can take upwards of one year to complete. If approved, your adoption worker will present your profile at adoption meetings for children whose needs they believe you would best match. This process has no fixed time limit, as our focus is on finding the right family for the child.

Processus d'adoption

Notre processus se divise en quatre étapes :

adoption process fr

SERVICE D'ACCUEIL

Vous pouvez joindre notre service d'accueil en composant le 613-742-1620, poste 2. Si vous ne réussissez pas à parler directement à une personne pendant les heures normales d’ouverture, vous pouvez nous laisser un message 7 jours par semaine, 24 heures par jour. Nous vous rappellerons habituellement dans les 48 heures suivant votre message. Le service d'accueil est votre première occasion de parler directement à un représentant en adoption au sujet du processus ou de vos questions.

SÉANCES D’INFORMATION

Ces séances visent à compléter les renseignements fournis sur notre site Web et par l'entremise de notre service d'accueil. Cliquez-ici pour visionner notre calendrier de séances d'information. Si, après la séance d'information vous êtes d’avis que votre famille conviendrait bien au genre d'enfants que nous tentons de placer, vous pouvez alors apporter à la maison l'une de nos trousses de demande que vous devrez remplir et nous retourner. 

 

Langue utilisée pendant les séances :

Français et anglais

Endroit :

Bureau principal au 1602, cour Telesat, Gloucester, ON

Fréquence :

Environ une fois aux deux mois

Inscription :

Communiquer avec le service d'accueil au 613-742-1620, poste 2

Animateurs :

Les séances sont animées par un intervenant en adoption ainsi que l'un de nos parents adoptifs

Durée :

Environ deux heures

Sujets abordés :

  • L'adoption dans le contexte général de notre Société de l'aide à l'enfance
  • Le processus de présentation d’une demande
  • Ce à quoi vous pouvez vous attendre après la présentation de votre demande
  • Les familles dont nous avons besoin actuellement
  • Le soutien que nous offrons après l'adoption
  • La communication avec la famille biologique
  • Le rôle des parents biologiques dans le processus d'adoption
  • Vous donnez l'occasion de poser d'autres questions.

 

LA TROUSSE DE DEMANDE

Après avoir assisté à la séance d'information, vous remplirez une trousse de demande pour nous permettre de mieux comprendre qui vous êtes et le profil de l'enfant que vous souhaitez adopter. Après avoir reçu votre demande, nous vous enverrons une lettre accusant réception de votre demande et indiquant tout document manquant, s'il y a lieu.

 

ÉVALUATION DES DEMANDES ET ÉTUDE DU MILIEU FAMILIAL

Après le processus d'admission initial, le superviseur des adoptions examinera votre demande et, selon les besoins actuels de nos enfants et de notre programme, recommandera que votre dossier soit fermé ou attribué. Si nous décidons de donner suite à votre demande, vous serez affecté à un intervenant en adoption qui travaillera avec vous pendant que vous achèverez votre évaluation de l'étude du milieu familial S.A.F.E. et vous inscrirez à notre programme de formation P.R.I.D.E.

Méthode S.A.F.E.

L'étude du milieu familial est menée selon la méthode S.A.F.E., qui consiste d'une analyse structurée et d'une évaluation de la famille. Au cours de cette étude, l’intervenant en adoption visitera votre domicile plusieurs fois, vous devrez fournir des références, des rapports médicaux et des renseignements financiers, vous devrez consentir à ce que des vérifications par la police et les services de protection de l'enfance soient effectuées et vous devrez remplir d'autres formulaires d'évaluation liés à la méthode SAFE. 

P.R.I.D.E.

Le processus d'étude du milieu familial exige également la participation à un programme de formation de 27 heures intitulé P.R.I.D.E., ce qui est un processus du perfectionnement et du soutien des familles-ressources. Cette formation prépare les parents adoptifs à répondre aux besoins des enfants adoptés et répond aux besoins d'apprentissage courants de chaque parent adoptif.

 

 

Le processus d'évaluation peut prendre jusqu'à une année. Si votre demande est approuvée, votre intervenant en adoption présentera votre profil au cours de réunions d'adoption pour des enfants pour lesquels vous êtes la personne qui peut répondre le mieux à leurs besoins. Ce processus n'a pas de durée déterminée, car notre priorité est de trouver la bonne famille pour l'enfant.