Notice of Information Practices

Ontario has a law that protects your personal information relating to services that you receive from us. We are required to follow the privacy rules under the Child, Youth and Family Services Act, 2017, whereas your personal information must be kept safe and secure.

CAS MANDATE

Children’s Aid Societies (CASs) have the exclusive mandate to provide child protection services in Ontario. We work to promote the best interest, protection and well-being of children. Every CAS in the province is responsible for a specific jurisdiction, and at times we work together to fulfill our mandate.

YOUR PERSONAL INFORMATION

This notice of information practice describes how The Children’s Aid Society of Ottawa (CASO) collects, uses, discloses and retains your personal information.

Our records include personal information collected to provide services to you including: your date of birth, contact information, records of meetings with you and/or your family, the services you received, the programs you attended, details of your physical and mental health, medical, psychological or psychiatric reports, school information, financial information, employment history, allegations or finding of child maltreatment, court documentation, police interventions, criminal history, your views or opinions, the views and opinions of others about you and information about your race, ancestry, place of origin, ethnic origin, citizenship, family diversity, disability, creed, religion, age, sex, sexual orientation, gender identity, gender expression, cultural or linguistic needs, and marital or family status.

We collect, use and share personal information to:

  • Investigate allegations that children may be in need of protection and, where necessary, protect children;

  • Assess, reduce or eliminate a risk of harm to a child or serious harm to other person or group of people;

  • Provide services to children and their families for protecting children or for the prevention of circumstances requiring the protection of children;

  • Provide care for children and supervise children under our supervision;

  • Assess and approve homes for children who cannot remain with their families;

  • Place children for adoption;

  • Plan and manage services;

  • Aid a law enforcement agency in an investigation;

  • Seek consent (or consent of a substitute decision-maker) where appropriate;

  • Receive payment or process, monitor, verify or reimburse claims for payment related to our mandate;

  • Detect, monitor or prevent fraud or any unauthorized receipt of services or financial benefits;

  • Provide appointment reminders;

  • Conduct risk management, error management and quality improvement activities;

  • Conduct service recipient surveying;

  • Respond to or initiate legal proceedings;

  • Conduct research (subject to certain rules);

  • Compile statistics;

  • Report to the government as required by law;

  • Allow for the analysis, administration and management of the children’s aid system;

  • Comply with legal and regulatory requirements; and

  • Fulfill other purposes permitted or required by law.

In child protection cases, we collect information about children who may be at risk of harm or in need of our services, including the personal information of the child and important people in the child’s life. We collect this information from children, their families or indirectly from members of the community or other service providers.

We also collect personal information about caregivers and those who seek to provide care to children in need, such as foster parents, adoptive parents and members of a child’s extended family and/or community. We collect most of this information directly from those individuals.

OTHER CHILDREN’S AID SOCIETIES

Information collected by one CAS may be provided to other CASs when the other CAS needs to know the information to provide child protection services.

SERVICE PROVIDERS

Service providers are persons or organizations who assist in the delivery of services to children and families. We share only the information that is necessary for service providers to deliver and administer these services.

OTHER THIRD PARTIES

Sometimes, we receive requests for information from third parties such as the police, government agencies and people involved in court cases with our clients. We only give personal information about service recipients to third parties if:

  • We have the individual’s consent, or;

  • There is a court order, search warrant, or urgent demand for records requiring disclosure; or

  • We are legally permitted or required to provide the information.

YOUR CONSENT

In some situations, we do not need consent to fulfill our primary role as a child protection agency, to protect children where we are required by law to collect, use and disclose personal information. For example, we do not need your permission to meet our child protection obligations or to share your personal information to keep you or someone else safe.

In other situations, you have the right to make your own information privacy decisions. When we require and ask for your permission, you may choose to say no. If you say yes, you may change your mind at any time. Once you say no, we will no longer share your information unless you say so. Your choice to say no may be subject to some legal limits.

In situations when you have a right to make your own information privacy decisions, you may make your decisions if you are capable. You may be capable of making some information privacy decisions and not others. If you are not capable – you will have a substitute decision-maker who will make your information decisions for you. The rules about who can act as a substitute decision-maker and what they have to do is also set out in law. For example, a substitute-decision maker can be a person named under the Health Care Consent Act, a guardian of the person or property, an attorney for personal care or property, a representative appointed by the Consent and Capacity Board, a spouse).

For children, there is no legal age when you become able to make your own decisions about your personal information. If you are capable, you can make your own decisions. However, if you are under the age of 16, there are some additional rules to know.

  • If you are not capable, your parent (s) or other official guardian will make decisions for you as your substitute decision-maker.

  • If you are capable, you will make your own decisions.

  • If you are capable, your parent(s) or guardian will also be allowed to make some decision about your personal information service records. They will not be able to make decisions about any records regarding treatment or counselling to which you alone consented.

RETAINING AND DISPOSAL OF INFORMATION

The Child Protection Information Network (CPIN) is an information management system used by CASs across the province. This system is the primary tool for storing information needed by CASs to deliver services.

CPIN contains information about children and their families who receive child protection services. It also contains information about caregivers and their relations, as well as those who seek to provide care to children in need, such as foster parents, adoptive parents and members of a child’s extended family and/or community.

We also have some older paper case files that predate CPIN, as well as older electronic case files.

We keep the personal information collected because it might be necessary for future cases. We also keep the information because former service recipients may ask to see the records containing their personal information.

SAFEGUARDS

Your personal information must be kept private and secure. Everyone at the CASO is bound by confidentiality. We protect your information from loss or theft and ensure no one looks at your information or does something with it if they are not involved in providing services to you or allowed as part of their job. If there is a privacy breach, we will tell you (and we are required by law to tell you) and we will share with you what has been done to address the privacy breach.

Safeguards equally apply to what personal information we enter into CPIN and other electronic information systems, as well as paper, or electronic copied of records, reports, financial records, administrative notes, voice messages, text messages, and emails (including on laptops and cell phones) and any other ways personal information can be recorded.

ACCESS AND CORRECTION

With limited exceptions, you have the right to access the personal information we hold about you that relates to a service provided to you.

If you need a copy of your service records, please fill out an access to information and disclosure request form found on our website.

In rare situations, you may be denied access to some or all of your personal information regarding your service (with any such denial being in accordance with the law).

We try to keep your personal information accurate and up-to-date. Please let us know if you disagree with what is recorded, and we will make the change or otherwise we will ask you to write a statement of disagreement and we will attach that statement to the relevant service record.

INFORMATION OR COMPLAINTS

For further information or concerns about our information practices, we invite you to contact privacy@casott.on.ca. If your privacy questions have not been answered or issues are not resolved to your satisfaction, you may wish to make a formal privacy complaint to us by contacting our Privacy Designate by email at privacy@casott.on.ca, or by calling 613-747-7800 ext. 4343.

If after contacting us, you feel that your concerns have not been addressed to your satisfaction, you have the right to complain to the Information and Privacy Commissioner of Ontario. The Information and Privacy Commissioner of Ontario is responsible for making sure that privacy laws are followed in Ontario.

The Commissioner can be reached at:

Information and Privacy Commissioner of Ontario

2 Bloor Street East, Suite 1400 Toronto, Ontario M4W 1A8

Phone: 416-326-3333 or 1-800-387-0073

TDD/TTY: 416-325-7539

Email: info@ipc.on.ca

Website: www.ipc.opn.ca

Avis sur les pratiques d'information

L’Ontario a adopté une loi qui protège vos renseignements personnels en ce qui concerne les services que vous recevez de notre part. Nous sommes tenus de respecter les règles de protection des renseignements personnels prévues par la Partie X de la Loi sur les services à l’enfance, à la jeunesse et à la famille, du fait que vos renseignements personnels doivent être conservés en lieu sûr.

MANDAT DES SOCIÉTÉS DE L’AIDE À L’ENFANCE

Les sociétés de l’aide à l’enfance ont le mandat exclusif d’offrir des services de protection de l’enfance en Ontario. Elles travaillent à promouvoir les intérêts, la protection et le bien-être des enfants. Toutes les sociétés de l’aide à l’enfance de la province sont responsables d’un territoire précis et, parfois, elles travaillent ensemble afin de accomplir leur mission.

VOS RENSEIGNEMENTS PERSONNELS

Cet avis sur les pratiques d’information décrit la façon dont La Société de l’aide à l’enfance d’Ottawa recueille, utilise, divulgue et conserve vos renseignements personnels.

Nos dossiers comprennent les renseignements personnels qui ont été recueillis pour vous offrir des services. Par exemple, votre date de naissance, vos coordonnées, les comptes rendus des rencontres survenues avec vous et/ou votre famille, les services que vous avez reçus, les programmes auxquels vous avez participé, des détails sur votre santé physique et mentale, des rapports médicaux, psychologiques ou psychiatriques, des renseignements scolaires, des renseignements financiers, des antécédents professionnels, des allégations ou des constatations de mauvais traitements infligés à un enfant, des documents du tribunal, des interventions de la police, des antécédents criminels, vos points de vue ou opinions, les points de vue et opinions d’autrui à votre sujet, ainsi que des renseignements concernant votre race, votre ascendance, votre lieu d’origine, votre origine ethnique, votre citoyenneté, la diversité de votre famille, votre handicap, vos croyances, votre religion, votre âge, votre sexe, votre orientation sexuelle, votre identité de genre, votre expression de genre, vos besoins culturels ou linguistiques et votre situation matrimoniale ou familiale.

Nous recueillons, utilisons et divulguons des renseignements personnels pour :

  • Mener une enquête sur les allégations selon lesquelles les enfants ont peut-être besoin de protection et, au besoin, protéger les enfants;

  • Évaluer, réduire ou éliminer un risque de préjudice à un enfant ou un risque de préjudice grave à une autre personne ou à un groupe de personnes;

  • Offrir aux enfants et à leur famille des services pour protéger les enfants ou pour empêcher que surviennent des situations qui nécessitent cette protection;

  • Offrir des soins aux enfants et superviser les enfants sous notre surveillance;

  • Évaluer et approuver des foyers pour les enfants qui ne peuvent rester avec leur famille;

  • Placer les enfants en vue de leur adoption;

  • Planifier et gérer les services;

  • Aider un organisme d’application de la loi dans le cadre d’une enquête;

  • Obtenir un consentement (ou celui d’un mandataire spécial), s’il y a lieu;

  • Recevoir des paiements ou traiter, surveiller, vérifier ou rembourser des demandes de paiement liées à notre mandat;

  • Détecter, surveiller ou prévenir les cas de fraude ou la réception non autorisée de services ou d’avantages financiers;

  • Effectuer des rappels de rendez-vous;

  • Mener des activités de gestion des risques, de gestion des erreurs et d’amélioration de la qualité;

  • Réaliser des sondages auprès des bénéficiaires de services;

  • Intenter des poursuites judiciaires ou y donner suite;

  • Effectuer des recherches (sous réserve de certaines règles);

  • Compiler des statistiques;

  • Présenter au gouvernement des rapports exigés par la loi;

  • Permettre l’analyse, l’administration et la gestion du système de l’aide à l’enfance;

  • Respecter les exigences juridiques et réglementaires;

  • Remplir d’autres fonctions autorisées ou exigées par la loi.

Dans les cas de protection de l’enfance, nous recueillons de l’information sur les enfants qui pourraient être victimes de préjudice ou avoir besoin de nos services. Cette information inclut les renseignements personnels de l’enfant et des personnes importantes dans sa vie. Nous recueillons l’information auprès des enfants et de leur famille ou indirectement auprès des membres de la collectivité ou d’autres fournisseurs de services.

Nous recueillons également des renseignements personnels sur les fournisseurs de soins et les personnes qui veulent s’occuper d’enfants dans le besoin, comme les parents d’accueil, les parents adoptifs, les membres de la famille élargie d’un enfant et/ou la collectivité. Nous recueillons une grande partie de ces renseignements directement auprès de ces personnes.

LES AUTRES SOCIÉTÉS DE L’AIDE À L’ENFANCE

L’information recueillie par une société de l’aide à l’enfance pourrait être fournie à d’autres sociétés de l’aide à l’enfance si elles ont besoin de l’information pour offrir des services de protection de l’enfance.

LES FOURNISSEURS DE SERVICES

Les fournisseurs de services sont des personnes ou des organismes qui participent à la prestation de services aux enfants et aux familles. Nous divulguons uniquement l’information dont les fournisseurs de services ont besoin pour offrir et administrer ces services.

LES AUTRES TIERCES PARTIES

Parfois, nous recevons des demandes d’information de la part de tierces parties, comme la police, les organismes gouvernementaux et les personnes ayant un rôle à jouer dans le cadre des procédures judiciaires de nos clients. Nous divulguons aux tierces parties des renseignements personnels concernant les bénéficiaires de services seulement si :

  • Nous avons le consentement du client;

  • Une ordonnance du tribunal, un mandat de perquisition ou une demande urgente de documents exige la divulgation de l’information;

  • Nous sommes légalement autorisés ou tenus de fournir l’information.

VOTRE CONSENTEMENT

Dans certaines situations, nous n’avons pas besoin d’obtenir de consentement pour remplir notre rôle principal d’organisme de protection de l’enfance, pour protéger les enfants lorsque la loi nous oblige à recueillir, à utiliser et à divulguer des renseignements personnels. Par exemple, nous n’avons pas besoin de votre autorisation pour respecter nos obligations en matière de protection de l’enfance ou pour divulguer vos renseignements personnels afin de garantir votre sécurité ou celle d’autrui.

Toutefois, dans d’autres situations, vous avez le droit de prendre vos propres décisions en ce qui concerne la confidentialité de vos renseignements personnels. Si nous sommes obligés de vous demander votre autorisation, vous pouvez refuser de nous l’accorder. Si vous acceptez, vous pouvez changer d’idée en tout temps. Si vous refusez, nous ne divulguerons plus vos renseignements sauf indication contraire de votre part. Votre décision de refuser pourrait être assujettie à certaines restrictions légales.

Dans les situations où vous avez le droit de prendre vos propres décisions en matière de confidentialité de vos renseignements personnels, vous pouvez prendre ces décisions si vous avez la capacité de le faire. Il se peut que vous ayez la capacité de ne prendre que certaines décisions en matière de confidentialité de vos renseignements personnels. Si vous n’avez pas la capacité de le faire, un mandataire spécial prendra des décisions en matière d’information à votre place. Les règles concernant la prise de décisions au nom d’autrui ainsi que ses responsabilités sont énoncées dans la loi. Par exemple, un mandataire spécial peut être une personne nommée en vertu de la Loi sur le consentement aux soins de santé, un tuteur à la personne ou aux biens, un procureur au soin de la personne ou aux biens, un représentant nommé par la Commission du consentement et de la capacité, un conjoint.

Pour les enfants, il n’existe aucun âge légal auquel ils sont autorisés à prendre leurs propres décisions concernant leurs renseignements personnels. Les enfants ayant la capacité de le faire peuvent prendre leurs propres décisions. Toutefois, d’autres règles s’appliquent aux enfants de moins de 16 ans.

  • Si vous n’avez pas la capacité de prendre des décisions, vos parents ou tout autre tuteur officiel prendront des décisions pour vous en tant que mandataire spécial.

  • Si vous avez la capacité de prendre des décisions, vous prendrez vos propres décisions.

  • Si vous avez la capacité de prendre des décisions, vos parents ou votre tuteur seront également autorisés à prendre certaines décisions concernant vos dossiers de services et vos renseignements personnels. Toutefois, ils ne pourront pas prendre de décisions concernant les dossiers portant sur le traitement ou les services de consultation pour lesquels vous avez accordé votre consentement en toute autonomie.

CONSERVATION ET ÉLIMINATION DE L’INFORMATION

Le Réseau d’information pour la protection de l’enfance (RIPE) est un système de gestion de l’information utilisé par les sociétés d’aide à l’enfance à l’échelle de la province. Ce système est le principal outil permettant de stocker l’information dont les sociétés d’aide à l’enfance ont besoin pour offrir leurs services.

Le RIPE contient de l’information sur les enfants et les familles qui reçoivent des services de protection de l’enfance. Il contient également de l’information sur les fournisseurs de soins et leurs relations, ainsi que sur les personnes qui veulent s’occuper d’enfants dans le besoin, comme les parents d’accueil, les parents adoptifs, les membres de la famille élargie d’un enfant et/ou la collectivité.

Nous détenons également d’anciens fichiers sur les cas, sur support papier, que nous utilisions avant le RIPE, ainsi que d’anciens dossiers électroniques qui sont stockés dans divers systèmes.

Nous conservons les renseignements personnels recueillis parce qu’ils pourraient être nécessaires pour d’autres cas à l’avenir. Nous conservons également l’information parce qu’il se peut que d’anciens bénéficiaires de services demandent à consulter les dossiers contenant leurs renseignements personnels. Nous éliminons les renseignements personnels en toute sécurité.

MESURES DE PROTECTION

Vos renseignements personnels doivent être protégés. Tout le personnel de La Société de l’aide à l’enfance d’Ottawa est lié par une entente de confidentialité. Nous protégeons vos renseignements contre la perte ou le vol. Nous veillons aussi à ce que personne n’examine vos renseignements ou ne les utilise de quelque façon que ce soit s’ils ne vous offrent pas de services ou s’ils ne sont pas autorisés à le faire dans le cadre de leur travail. Nous vous informerons en cas d’atteinte à la vie privée – par ailleurs, nous sommes tenus par la loi de vous en informer – et nous vous ferons part des mesures ayant été prises pour régler la situation.

Les mesures de protection s’appliquent également aux renseignements personnels que nous enregistrons dans le RIPE et d’autres systèmes d’information électroniques, ainsi qu’aux exemplaires des dossiers sur support papier ou électronique, aux rapports, aux dossiers financiers, aux notes administratives, aux messages vocaux, aux messages textes et aux courriels (y compris ceux qui se trouvent dans les ordinateurs portatifs et les téléphones cellulaires) et à tout autre renseignement personnel enregistré de quelque façon que ce soit.

ACCÈS ET CORRECTION

Sauf rares exceptions, vous avez le droit d’avoir accès aux renseignements personnels que nous détenons à votre sujet et qui se rapportent à un service qui vous est fourni.

Si vous avez besoin d’une copie de vos dossiers de service, veuillez remplir le formulaire de demande d’accès à l’information et de divulgation qui se trouve sur notre site Web.

Dans de rares cas, vous pourriez vous voir refuser l’accès à une partie ou à la totalité de vos renseignements personnels concernant votre service (ce refus étant conforme à la loi).

Nous nous efforçons de tenir vos renseignements personnels exacts et à jour. Veuillez nous faire savoir si vous n’êtes pas d’accord avec l’information enregistrée. Nous apporterons les corrections nécessaires ou nous vous demanderons de rédiger une déclaration de désaccord que nous verserons au dossier de services pertinent.

RENSEIGNEMENTS OU PLAINTES

Si vous avez besoin de plus amples renseignements ou si vous avez des préoccupations au sujet de nos pratiques en matière d’information, veuillez envoyer un courriel à l’adresse privacy@casott.on.ca. Si vous avez des questions concernant la protection de vos renseignements personnels ou si les solutions proposées ne vous conviennent pas, veuillez déposer une plainte officielle en matière de protection des renseignements personnels auprès de notre responsable de la protection des renseignements personnels par courriel à l’adresse privacy@casott.on.ca ou par téléphone au 613 747-7800, poste 4343.

Si, après avoir communiqué avec nous, vous estimez que vos préoccupations n’ont pas été traitées de manière satisfaisante, vous avez le droit de déposer une plainte auprès du commissaire à l’information et à la protection de la vie privée de l’Ontario. Le commissaire à l’information et à la protection de la vie privée de l’Ontario veille à ce que les lois sur la protection de la vie privée soient respectées en Ontario.

Pour joindre le commissaire :

Commissaire à l’information et à la protection de la vie privée de l’Ontario

2, rue Bloor Est, bureau 1400, Toronto (Ontario) M4W 1A8

Téléphone : 416 326-3333 ou 1 800 387-0073

ATS : 416 325-7539

Courriel : info@ipc.on.ca

Site Web : www.ipc.opn.ca