Public & Delegation attendance

Public presenting to the Board



The Board of Director Meetings is open to the public. To support the welcoming of the public the following will occur:

  • A meeting room will be open to the public to wait for the Meeting.
  • Copies of the Agenda and minutes of the previous Board Meetings being discussed within the Board Meeting will be provided to the public in attendance.


The public can participate in the Board Meeting:

  • By requesting time to present prior to the meeting and presenting within the time period allowed on the agenda item Public Presentation.
  • By asking questions to the Board allowed on the agenda item ‘Questions to the Board'. The questions may be asked and responses will be provided as directed by the Chair. This may include a response in the meeting if appropriate. However, common practice is to answer the inquiry outside the meeting in a reasonable timeframe based on the availability of information and complexity of the question.


Delegations presenting to the Board

Time Allotment

Generally, delegations are given five minutes to make the presentation, however the time may be extended by the Chair of the meeting, but not beyond ten minutes in total. It is expected that the speakers will be limited to two persons as representatives on behalf of the delegation.

Relevance Of The Subject Matter Of A Presentation

The subject must have some relevance to the mandate of the Society. However, the Board will not hear matters that are:

  • The subject of labour negotiations;
  • The subject of contractual negotiations or service agreements with service providers;
  • In relation to a specific client, employee or volunteer of the Society.

Generally, the Board will not hear matters that are subject to the requirement to be heard in camera. However, there may be circumstances where the Chair believes that the Board should receive representations on such an issue and accordingly such representations shall be heard in camera, subject to the same limitations of time.

Becoming A Delegate

Anyone wishing to become a delegation to the Board gives notice at least ten days prior to the date of a regular Board meeting, with a written statement as to the subject matter of the presentation and those who will be in attendance. It is desirable that a written summary of the presentation be provided for distribution to the members of the Board before the meeting.


Following a delegation's presentation, a question period of a maximum of five minutes will be allowed for the purpose of seeking clarification from the delegation. 

Delegations To Committees

It may be more appropriate for a delegation to be heard in the first instance by a committee of the Board. Where such is the case, the delegation will be encouraged to appear before the committee. The above-mentioned rules apply to the proceedings before a committee, subject to determination by the chair of the committee. Board Committees are working groups of set membership that bring recommendations to the board for decision.

Involvement In Discussions

Public participation in the discussion at Board Meetings is not generally allowed as defined by the Bylaw 7.05. To ensure transparency, all committee business and recommendations are brought to the Board of Directors meeting following the committee meeting in the form of minutes or verbal reports. Therefore there is no public attendance to committee meetings other than by the invitation of the Committee.

Similar Matters

The chair may limit the number of delegations that are to appear respecting the same issue. A delegation that has been heard on an issue may not appear again on that same issue within the twelve months following the presentation, except that it may be given an opportunity to comment should the issue raised come back to the Board for a report following consideration of the initial representations.

Présence du public et délégations

Accès

Les réunions du Conseil d’administration sont ouvertes au public. Afin d’accueillir le public, on prendra soin:

  • De mettre une salle de réunion à la disposition des membres du public qui attendent le début de la réunion.
  • De distribuer aux membres du public qui assisteront aux réunions des copies de l’ordre du jour et des procès verbaux dont les membres du Conseil discuteront pendant la réunion.

Présentations du provenace

 

 

Participation

Les membres du public peuvent participer aux réunions du Conseil de la manière suivant :

  1. En demandant au préalable d’être inscrit à l’ordre du jour sous l’item « Présentations du public. »
  2. En posant des questions aux membres du Conseil pendant la période de l’ordre du jour réservée aux « Questions posées au Conseil ». Le président dirigera cette période de questions et réponses. Il arrivera qu’on fournisse une réponse pendant la réunion s’il convient de le faire. Mais en général, on répond aux demandes de renseignements en dehors des réunions dans des délais raisonnables, selon la disponibilité de l’information et la complexité de la question.

 

Présentations des délégations au Conseil d’administration

Temps alloué

En général, on donne aux délégations cinq minutes pour faire une présentation. Le président de la réunion pourra cependant décider d’allouer plus de temps, sans toutefois dépasser dix minutes en tout. Chaque délégation ne devra pas avoir plus de deux porte-parole.

Pertinence du sujet de la présentation

Les sujets présentés doivent concerner le mandat de la Société. Cependant, le Conseil n’entendra pas de présentations qui touchent:

  • Des négociations collectives;
  • Des négociations de contrats ou d’ententes de service avec des fournisseurs;
  • Des questions relatives à un client, à un employé ou à un bénévole particulier de la Société.

En général, le Conseil n’entendra pas de présentations sur des sujets que l’on doit traiter à huis clos. Toutefois, si le président est d’avis que le Conseil doit entendre de telles présentations, celles-ci se feront à huis clos et seront assujetties aux même limites de temps que les autres.

Comment devenir délégué

Quiconque désire représenter une délégation devant le Conseil d’administration doit envoyer, dans un délai d’au moins dix jours avant la date d’une réunion ordinaire du Conseil, un avis écrit indiquant le sujet de la présentation ainsi que les noms des personnes qui l’accompagneront. Il serait bon d’y joindre un résumé de la présentation que l’on pourra distribuer aux membres du Conseil avant la réunion.

Période de questions

À la suite de la présentation d’une délégation, on consacrera une période maximale de cinq minutes à des questions visant à obtenir des éclaircissements de la délégation.

Remarques importantes

Présentations des délégations aux comités

Les délégations ont souvent intérêt à faire leur première présentation devant un comité du Conseil. Dans de tels cas, on encouragera les délégations à se présenter devant le comité qui convient. Les règles stipulées ci-dessus s’appliquent aux présentations devant un comité à la discrétion de son président. Les comités du Conseil sont des groupes de travail composés de membres du Conseil chargés de présenter des recommandations au Conseil pour l’aider à prendre des décisions.

Participation aux Discussions

Conformément au Statut 7.05, les membres du public ne sont généralement pas invités à participer aux discussions des réunions du Conseil d’administration. À des fins de transparence, les comités présentent tout rapport de leurs activités et recommandations au Conseil d’administration, sous forme de procès-verbaux ou de rapports verbaux. Par conséquent, les membres du public n’assistent pas aux réunions des comités à moins d’y avoir été invités.

Autres Questions Similaires

Le président peut limiter le nombre de délégations qui désirent faire des présentations sur un même sujet. Une délégation ne peut pas se faire entendre sur le même sujet plus d’une fois pendant une période de douze mois. Cependant, il peut arriver qu’une délégation soit rappelé devant le Conseil pour offrir des commentaires concernant la réponse qui lui a faite le Conseil.