Duty to Report

dress-purple-day-wordmark-every-child-EN

Every child and youth has the right to safety and well-being.


The paramount purpose of Ontario’s Child, Youth and Family Services Act, 2017 (CYFSA) is to promote the best interests, protection, and well-being of children. This provincial law gives Children’s Aid Societies the exclusive responsibility to investigate concerns about the safety and well-being of children and youth under 18 and to provide child protection services.

Contrary to popular belief, it is not necessary to be certain that a child is or may be in need of protection to make a report to a Children’s Aid Society. Far from it. If you have seen or heard something that has you concerned about the safety or well-being of a child, you owe it to them to make a call. 

The Children’s Aid Society of Ottawa (CASO) is committed to protecting the children and youth of our community. We work in collaboration with community partners to ensure their well-being and to strengthen the capacity of families and the communities in which they live.

If you're concerned about the safety or well-being of a child, contact us at 613-747-7800.

Devoir de Signaler

dress-purple-wordmark-fr-final

Tous les enfants et les jeunes ont droit à la sécurité et au bien-être.

 

La Loi de 2017 sur les services à l’enfance, à la jeunesse et à la famille (LSEJF) vise à promouvoir l’intérêt des enfants et des jeunes et à assurer leur protection et leur bien-être. Cette loi provinciale donne aux sociétés d’aide à l’enfance (SAE) la responsabilité exclusive d’enquêter sur les préoccupations relatives à la sécurité et au bienêtre des enfants et des jeunes de moins de 18 ans et de fournir des services de protection de l’enfance.

Il n’est pas nécessaire que l’on soit certain qu’un enfant ait ou puisse avoir besoin de protection pour faire un signalement à une société d’aide à l’enfance. Loin de là, si en raison d’une chose que vous avec vue ou entendue, vous vous inquiétez au sujet de la sécurité  ou du bien-être d’un enfant, vous lui devez de faire un appel.

La Société de l’aide à l’enfance d’Ottawa (SAEO) s’emploie à protéger les enfants et les jeunes de notre communauté. Nous collaborons avec nos partenaires communautaires afin d’assurer leur bien-être et renforcer les capacités des familles et du milieu où ils vivent.

Si vous avez des préoccupations concernant un enfant, n’hésitez pas à nous appeler au 613‑747-7800.